The Adventure Is Slightly Delayed

Most of you are probably aware of the cranky old bastard who has caused an excessive amount of turmoil to travellers in airports across Canada and the USA. No, I’m not referring to the tanned narcissist who leads the free world (but good guess), I’m referring to Old Man Winter.

For those who may have forgotten since I wrote The Adventure Continues, I was supposed to have flown to Goose Bay via Halifax on Monday. And yet, here I am, in the comfort of my own bed, wrapped securely in a blanket burrito with a softly purring fuzzball snuggled up next to me.

Of course, this is all due to the crazy blizzard that has been pounding the East Coast since the weekend, and the blizzard that is (I think) currently hitting St. John’s.

Despite the weather and the delays, I have to say that I’ve been rather lucky. The notice of my first delay, which saw my flight taking off at 11 pm instead of Monday morning, popped up on my phone with ample time to call my airport cab to rearrange my pickup from 8 am to 8:15 pm. The second delay moved my already delayed flight from 11 pm Monday night, to 1 am Tuesday morning. I opted not to change the airport cab, figuring I could simply wait out the extra few hours in the Maple Leaf lounge while enjoying a beverage and working on a paper.

Anyway, as I stood at the door around 8:10 pm last night awaiting my airport cab to arrive, I received another message from Air Canada indicating my 1 am flight was officially cancelled.

Old Man Winter! I cursed while imaging myself shaking a fist at the sky.

Fortunately, this provided me just enough time to contact the airport cab company so that I could cancel my trip and promise to call them back and rebook as soon as I had my new flights sorted. As it stands right now, I should be flying out tomorrow at 8 am.

Whatever the case, I have to say that I’m really happy that I’ve received news about my flight delays and cancellation with enough time to avoid having made the trek to the airport. I imagine I’d be far more annoyed if I had made my way to Pearson only to find out on arrival that my flight was cancelled.

Here’s hoping Old Man Winter is done with his shenanigans.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

