The Adventure Is Postponed

So after several flight delays, and then a cancellation, and then further delays and flight changes, and then threats of more bad weather, the Labrador Research Forum was officially postponed until the end of April. Sadly this means that my adventure to Labrador has also been postponed. Damn you Old Man Winter, damn you to hell!

The good news is that I won’t have to wait until April to head to Labrador. Instead, I’ve moved my research trip to mid-March. Here’s hoping Old Man Winter is too weak and tired to throw any more of his special brand of crazy in our general direction, because I was very much looking forward to spending some time back in Rigolet.

Again, I will be making my way back there in less than a month, and that trip will actually give me more time to spend in Rigolet, so I really have nothing to complain about.

Still, the fact that I was supposed to be travelling and now am not has stirred the wanderlust. What is normally a constant hum in my head, a constant drive to explore, a constant nag to adventure is now more than that. I’m antsy, and I really don’t know if I can sit around waiting until the middle of March to arrive.

Of course, the adulting part of my brain (which I’ll admit is probably smaller than it should be) is suggesting that I take this time to continue my efforts to purge my condo of stuff I don’t need, and to do other adulting things; like cook, and read, and clean, and maybe do some minor repairs that shouldn’t take a lot of time but probably will because I’m quite inept in that department. But still, Vancouver is only a short flight. And New York is even closer. And I haven’t been to Chicago in a long time. And I’ve never been to Boston. Or Seattle for that matter.

I don’t know if I can be held responsible for anything that I do over the next few days. Regardless, don’t be surprised if the next time I write I’ve decided to avoid adulting. Because I have my entire life to adult, right?

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    Adulting is for suckers. And Vancouver is only a short plane ride away (plus, I have vacation days from last year that I need to spend ASAP and I need something exciting to do with them!!)

    1. dangillis says:

      I’m still toying with the idea of leaving on a jet plane. And Rick is also applying appropriate prodding, so you never know – you might just see me next week 😉

Leave a Reply

