The Adventure Continues: Take II

Remember that time in February when I was supposed to board a shiny metal lawn dart on my way through Halifax and Happy Valley-Goose Bay to Rigolet? And remember how Old Man Winter decided to crush my travel plans because he’s an old cranky bastard? Well here’s hoping that Old Man Winter doesn’t decide to crush my travel plans for the second time.

If all goes well I’ll be boarding the first of several planes on Monday morning. Once again I’ll be attempting the Halifax to Happy Valley-Goose Bay to Rigolet route, although I will be spending at least 1 night (maybe 2) in Goose Bay so that I can catch up with some friends and then get some research planning sorted. After that, it’s all about Rigolet.

I’m really excited to get back to Rigolet. It’s been slightly more than half a year since I’ve been there, although it feels like an eternity. I’m looking forward to seeing all the smiling faces I’ve come to expect on my trips to the community. I’m looking forward to chatting with everyone. And I’m most definitely looking forward to a lot of laughter and some great food.

But I’m also looking forward to the land and the water and the sky that are such a significant component to my journeys to Nunatsiavut. I’m looking forward to the crisp winter air and the stillness of everything; the quiet, punctuated by the sounds of snow crunching underfoot, or by a distant animal, or by the blowing wind. And I’m very much looking forward to looking up at the night sky and seeing a blanket of stars and if I’m lucky, the spectacle that is the aurora borealis.

Most of all, I’m looking forward to the sense of peace and stillness that Rigolet seems to give me. While this semester hasn’t been as hectic as previous ones, it has still been quite busy, and I’m sure that spending time in Rigolet is exactly what the doctor ordered.

Here’s hoping that Old Man Winter doesn’t decide to foil my plans (again).

Leave a Reply

