What Could Go Wrong?

Dear scienticians, I could really use a duplicator right about now.

Sometime in the past 6 months, Dr. Beth, Nancy, and I decided to throw together a proposal for a panel discussion for the Canadian Evaluation Society’s annual meeting. And then I worked with my ICON colleagues to pull together proposals for talks and workshops at the Society for Teaching & Learning in Higher Education’s annual conference, as well as the Community University Expo, and the Teaching and Learning Innovations Conference. I also decided as the Director of the Physical Science & Engineering Education Research Centre at the University of Guelph to propose a panel discussion for the latter of those conferences. Finally, I promised the organizers of the National Food Summit that I would be part of a panel, and/or run a plenary session to launch the Meal Exchange Trick Or Eat application that several of my students have been diligently working on.

And of course, I never really thought to pay attention to when any of these conferences were scheduled to take place because clearly, I’m a twit.

And then in February, as you may recall, crazy winter weather led to the cancellation of the Labrador Research Forum and subsequently my trip to Goose Bay and Rigolet.

About a week or so after the Labrador Research Forum was cancelled, I received notification from the conference organizers that it had been rescheduled for April 30-May 3. It was at that point in time that I decided to sit down and sort out my upcoming conference schedule because I knew it was going to be busy.

And dear readers, as you read through the following list of conferences you’ll understand why I am a twit, and more importantly, why I am in need of a duplicator.

  • The Canadian Evaluation Society’s annual meeting will be held at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, British Columbia from April 30-May 3
  • The Labrador Research Forum will be held in Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Labrador from April 30th-May 3
  • The Community University Expo will be held at Simon Fraser University in Vancouver, British Columbia between May 1-5
  • The Teaching and Learning Innovations Conference will be held at the University of Guelph from May 2-3
  • The National Food Summit takes place at the University of Guelph between June 22-25
  • The Society for Teaching & Learning in Higher Education annual meeting will take place at Dalhousie University between June 21-23

If you’ve been following along you’ll see that I somehow need to be in four places at once – two universities in Vancouver, plus Guelph, and Goose Bay – between April 30 and May 5, as well as in two places at once – Guelph and Halifax – between June 21 and June 25.

Because I can’t bend or otherwise manipulate space-time – at least not that I’m aware of – I have decided to forgo attending the Teaching & Learning Innovations conference (opting to have a colleague lead the panel discussion in my absence), and the Labrador Research Forum (opting to have a student present my poster instead).

Of course, this still means I’m going to need to carefully plan my Vancouver trip so as to ensure I am present for the Community University Expo’s Community Jam (where my colleagues and I will be discussing community-engaged scholarship, the ICON Transdisciplinary Classroom, and the Seed Community Food Hub), and the Canadian Evaluation Society’s annual meeting (where Dr. Beth, Nancy, and I will be part of a panel discussion titled A Graphic Designer, an Evaluator, and a Computer Scientist Walk into a Bar).

I have yet to figure out how I’m going to manage attending both the National Food Summit and the Society for Teaching & Learning in Higher Education annual meeting this June. Maybe by then I’ll know the secrets of bending space-time?

One Comment Add yours

  1. I love brain racking stuff.

Leave a Reply

