Hello Again Vancouver

on

On Saturday, after a mostly uneventful flight in a glorified lawn dart, I safely landed in Vancouver just in time to celebrate Canada Day.

While I’m here for a bunch of meetings related to work that I’m doing on the other side of the country in Rigolet, I’m hopeful that I’ll be able to get a little bit of downtime because it is, after all, the Canada Day long weekend. I don’t know what said downtime might look like as of yet, but I’m not concerned as adventure and shenanigans have a tendency of finding me. My guess is that it will likely involve copious amounts of coffee, laughter, walking the city, and perhaps some time with the mountains.

Whatever the case, I feel especially fortunate to be back in Vancouver again. If you’ll recall, I was here at the end of April/beginning of May to attend two different conferences – the Annual Meeting of the Canadian Evaluation Society, and the Community University Expo. And as usual, the city did not disappoint. It was a great trip filled with excellent food, and more importantly, good friends.

This time around I’ll be sitting down with the fine folks at Left.io to begin planning out the details of a research project with the community of Rigolet that will see the introduction of mobile mesh technology to help improve their connectivity. Like many remote communities across the country, connectivity is rather limited in Rigolet. However, mobile mesh technology has the potential to alleviate some of the connectivity issues by providing a platform on which to build apps that will keep the community connected to each other. I’m really excited about this project, and can’t wait to get started.

Of course, before all that begins, I should probably spend more time walking along the water, enjoying some more coffee, sauntering the Granville Island Market, and doing all the things that have nothing to do with work.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

