There And Back Again

The adventure continues! I arrived in Halifax last night after spending most of the day in the Maple Leaf Lounge at Pearson (having had my departure time moved from 7:55 am to 4:30 pm). Honestly, it wasn’t all that bad, and I now have another shiny AirCanada cheque to compensate me for my troubles. Of course, we all know that they are just going to get that money back as soon as I figure out where I want to go on vacation.

While I wish I had more time in Halifax, I’ll be flying off to Happy Valley-Goose Bay this evening so that I can attend several meetings related to a health and wellness research project in Goose Bay and several other communities in NunatuKavut. And then when that’s finished I’ll be boarding yet another glorified, but much smaller lawn dart, on my way to Rigolet for 3 days.

Once I get to Rigolet, I’ll be sitting down with Charlie and Inez to chat about the eNuk project, as well as to organize the bigger team visit that will be happening in August with Left.io and OffNet. Specifically, we’re going to need to plan some community engagement activities, and determine how best to carry out the research that we need to do to implement a Mobile Mesh Network in town (more about that here and here). And if I’m lucky, I’ll also be able to start measuring some of the internet speeds and connectivity during this trip so that we have a baseline understanding, and a means of measuring changes to connectivity as the Mobile Mesh Network comes online.

The next week is going to be packed, but I’m very much looking forward to it. It’ll be great to be back in Rigolet, even if it is just for a few days. Fortunately, my August visit will have me in the community for 7 nights – plenty of time to breathe in as much of Labrador as I can before the craziness of the fall semester begins.

 

Leave a Reply

