Almost Off Again

I’ve been home for slightly less than a week and I’m already prepping for my next adventure. This means I’ve been cramming in as many meetings as possible since I returned from Rigolet, while also trying to meet up with as many friends as I can. And despite the crazy schedule (which seems to include at least 6 hours of meetings every day until I leave), I’m somehow still smiling.

The next adventure on my list of seemingly never-ending adventures will have me boarding a glorified lawn dart as I make my way with two students and a colleague on a return trip to Rigolet. Our goal will be to begin running the necessary tests to determine how best to implement a mobile mesh network to improve the connectivity of the community. Of course, we’ll also get to enjoy the Rigolet Salmon Festival which just so happens to be taking place while we’re in town.

This adventure will mark the third trip for me to Labrador this year, with at least two more remaining on the docket. The first of these is a trip over Thanksgiving weekend to present at the Canadian Society of Circumpolar Health’s Northern, Rural, and Remote Health Conference (to be held in Happy Valley-Goose Bay), followed by a trip in late October/early November to begin the formal implementation of the mobile mesh network.

But of course, there are plenty of adventures to be had between the times when my next trip to Labrador ends, and the flight to Happy Valley-Goose Bay in October takes off. This includes my third trip to Vancouver for the year, an as yet unconfirmed return trip to Dalian Nationalities University in Dalian, China, and a long weekend in Toronto for the Ontario Universities Fair.

And because I love me some travel, I also have an as yet unconfirmed trip scheduled to attend meetings in Anchorage, Alaska that just so happens to be tentatively scheduled between my final two trips to Labrador. Because why wouldn’t I want to fly from one coast to the other, and back again on repeat? Fortunately, based on my understanding of the space-time continuum, this back and forth travel should somehow cancel out any sort of jet lag. That’s just science, folks.

Beyond all of this, I may also be attending conferences in Fredericton and Quebec in November and December, followed by some vacation time in Europe or Iceland or South America.

All told, with 10 trips eastward and 5 trips westward, and an estimated total distance travelled by plane this year equivalent to traversing the widest part of Canada1 almost 19 times, this year has turned into the year of crisscrossing Canada.


1 5514 km according to Statistics Canada.

Leave a Reply

