My Life Is Weird

There are days when I wake up and wonder to myself how I’ve managed to end up where I am. Don’t get me wrong; this isn’t a case of waking up with regrets, or not recognizing the work I put in to accomplish some of the things I’ve accomplished. It’s more the case that I feel I have many mornings – more than I think normal – where I wake up and realize that my life is extremely weird.

There’s that time I was interviewed for CNN about running. And then that time I was on CityTV because my flight was extremely delayed. Or the time I was on a date and some girl recognized me and screamed from across the street Oh my god! It’s Dan Gillis! because she recognized me from my buddy Jasper’s vlog posts. Weird. My life is weird.

Anyway, over the past two months the fine folks at Science Borealis – a not-for-profit whose goal it is to highlight Canadian science –  have been running the 100 Voices for Canadian Science Communication campaign. The mission of the campaign was to gather researchers and non-researchers together to collect their thoughts on the role of, and need for science communication in Canada.

As described here, not only was the campaign a huge success, but it also attracted some big names in Canadian science including Chris Hadfield, David Suzuki, Jay Ingram, and Carin Bondar. This doesn’t even speak to the journalists, policy makers, educators, government officials and researchers who round out the 100 voices, nor does it speak to the messages and thoughts they provided as part of this campaign.

So when my quote was also included in the 100 Voices for Canadian Science Communication, you’ll probably understand why I think my life is sometimes weirder than I think normal. Honestly, I’m really excited to be part of this campaign and honoured to be included with the group of people I was.

If you have the chance, you can check out the entire set of 100 Voices here. And a huge thanks to Science Borealis for including me, and to @vexedmuddler for the awesome portrait.

100 Voices for Canadian Science Communication
100 Voices for Canadian Science Communication, from Science Borealis. Portrait by @vexedmuddler.

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.