Salted Chocolate Pecan Pie – Or How To Become Pie-abetic

Salted Chocolate Pecan Pie.

After a weekend filled with adventuring, hanging with the wee fuzzball, and getting to spend some quality time with friends, I figured I should somehow mark the occasion. But, how does one mark such a monumentally awesome weekend? I asked myself. The answer was pretty much instantaneous.

Pie1.

And just like that I spent the afternoon making pies for yet another awesome dinner with friends this eve.

Given the success of my previous pumpkin pie adventure, I decided that more pumpkin pies were necessary. Feeling adventurous, I also opted to try my hand at a dairy free pecan pie. Being the resourceful fellow that I am2, I queried the all-powerful and all-knowing Google. After scanning a few3 recipes, I settled on this one. I did however modify the recipe slightly (as indicated below). The result: a deliciously delicious one way trip to a potential diabetic coma known as Dan’s Dairy Free Salted Chocolate Pecan Pie.

I know. Saying it makes me salivate too.


Ingredients:

  • So many pies, so little time.

    2 (9 inch) unbaked pie crust

  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup butter (Becel) vegan butter
  • 1 cup light corn syrup
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 bar of dairy free salted dark chocolate – chopped into pieces about the size of chocolate chips or smaller
  • 1 cup roughly chopped pecans

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 Fahrenheit.
  2. Blend eggs, brown sugar, flour, vegan butter, corn syrup and vanilla in a large bowl.
  3. Add the chocolate and pecans, and mix well.
  4. Pour the mixture evenly into the two pie crusts.
  5. Bake for 40-45 minutes.

1 Pie pretty much is the answer to anything. I don’t think I should have to tell you to write that down, but perhaps you should just for good measure.

2 Read lazy.

3 In this case few means 2.


2 Comments Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.